Burgum appoints seven members to State Water Commission

BISMARCK, N.D. – Gov. Doug Burgum today appointed seven members to the State Water Commission, bringing a broad variety of experience in flood protection, water supply and other water issues to the board.

The nine-member State Water Commission consists of Burgum as chairman, Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring as an ex-officio member, and seven members appointed by the governor, with one member each from the seven major drainage basins in North Dakota.

“Water is a critical component of everything we do in North Dakota, from daily life and recreation to business, agriculture and industry. These commissioners possess the backgrounds and breadth of expertise to manage and develop our water resources in a way that improves the quality of life and strengthens the economy for the benefit of all North Dakotans,” Burgum said.

Dr. McDonald, President of United Tribes Technical College, was appointed to the Lower Missouri drainage basin. 

The State Water Commission has the authority to investigate, plan, construct and develop water-related projects, and serves as a mechanism to financially support those efforts throughout North Dakota. The State Engineer serves as the commission’s executive officer, overseeing the staff who carry out the commission’s work.

The commission meets six times a year, and its meetings are open to the public. The next meeting is scheduled for 1-5 p.m. Aug. 23 in the Lower Level Conference Room at 900 E. Boulevard Ave., Bismarck.

Read the full article here: https://www.governor.nd.gov/news/burgum-appoints-seven-members-state-water-commission

Dr. Leander "Russ" McDonald, President United Tribes Technical College