Home United Tribes News Story

United Tribes News

Pearson elected to chair United Tribes board
17 February 2007

Myra Pearson
Construction worker Albert "Buck" Fallis (Fort Thompson) shares some humor with newly elected United Tribes Technical College Chairperson Myra Pearson (Spirit Lake), during a February 16 tour of newly constructed family apartments on the college campus in Bismarck. Looking on is newly elected board Vice-Chairman Jim Baker (Turtle Mountain). United Tribes News photo.

BISMARCK (UTN) - Myra Pearson, chair of the Spirit Lake Nation, Fort Totten, ND, was elected board chairperson of United Tribes Technical College at a meeting February 16. The board governs operations of the college in Bismarck that serves over 1,000 students annually.

      Pearson succeeds Tex G. Hall, former chair of the Mandan-Hidatsa-Arikara Nation, and also assumes leadership of United Tribes of North Dakota, an association of the five tribal nations located in the state in whole or in part.

      The member tribes are: Mandan-Hidatsa-Arikara Nation, Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate, Spirit Lake Nation, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

      Jim Baker, District 1 councilman of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa, Belcourt, ND, was elected vice-chair.

      Marcus Wells Jr., chairman of the Mandan-Hidatsa-Arikara Nation, New Town, ND, was elected secretary-treasurer.


Contact Us

United Tribes News
3315 University Drive
Bismarck, ND 58504

(701) 255-3285 ext. 1386