Home United Tribes News Story

United Tribes News

UTTC hosts Johnson Scholarship Foundation
19 October 2006
By Carol Anderson, Small Business Management Instructor

      United Tribes Technical College hosted the Annual Johnson Scholarship Foundation/Tribal College meeting September 30 on the campus in Bismarck. Attending was Foundation Board President Malcolm Macleod, Vice President Diane Johnson, Board Member David Blaikie, and Office and Grants Administrator Sharon Wood.

      Tribal Colleges represented at the meeting were: College of Menominee Nation, Fort Berthold Community College, Fort Peck Community College, Oglala Lakota College, Salish Kootenai College, Sinte Gleska University, Sitting Bull College, Turtle Mountain Community College and UTTC.

      Guest speaker, Stewart Sarkozy-Banoczy, First Nations Oweesta, spoke about the role of tribal colleges in entrepreneurship development on reservations.

      Representing UTTC were David M. Gipp, Phil Baird, Bobbi Jo Zueger, Carol Anderson, Naomi Kasto and Winona Kasto.

      The Johnson Scholarship Foundation promotes job creation on reservations through entrepreneurship training. UTTC received $40,000 in scholarships for students in Small Business Management during the 2006-07 academic year. The foundation is located in West Palm Beach, Florida. The website address is www.jsf.bz.


Contact Us

United Tribes News
3315 University Drive
Bismarck, ND 58504

(701) 255-3285 ext. 1386